Zacatecas is one of Mexico's 31 states. It is divided into 58 municipalities, with Zacatecas as its capital city. Zacatecas is in northern central Mexico. It is bounded on the northwest by Durango, on the north by Coahuila, on the west by Nayarit, on the east by San Luis Potosi and Nuevo León, and on the south by Jalisco, Guanajuato, and Aguascalientes. The state is well renowned for its abundant silver and other mineral reserves, colonial architecture, and role in the Mexican Revolution.