Among Mexico's 32 states and federal territories, Puebla is an integral part. Its capital, Puebla, is one of 217 municipalities spread around the state. It occupies an area in the heart of eastern Mexico. It shares boundaries with the states of Guerrero and Oaxaca to the south and Guerrero and Veracruz to the north and east.