Mexico will host the U-23 Baseball World Cup, in which 12 teams will participate. The stadiums of Hermosillo and Ciudad Obregón will host the 50 games that will be played in total, from September 23 to October 2. The hosts will try to defend their title won in 2018, when Barranquilla hosted the tournament.

Group A includes Chinese Taipei, ranked number three, defending champion and host Mexico (5), Dominican Republic (6), Cuba (11), Czech Republic (16), and Germany (18). These teams will play their group stage games in Ciudad Obregon.

Sector B is made up of South Korea (2), the Netherlands (8), Venezuela (10), Panama (13), Nicaragua (14), and Colombia (15). These U-23 teams will play the first phase of the tournament at the Yaquis Stadium in Hermosillo, Sonora.

According to Erubiel Durazo Cárdenas, director of the Sonora Sports Commission, during the games, there will be prospects who are being scouted by scouts from professional baseball leagues.

The Under-23 World Cup is a tournament organized by the Football and Softball Confederation since 2014, which is held every two years. The first edition was in Taichung (Taiwan), in which China Taipei won the gold, Japan the silver, and South Korea the Bronze.

Mexico hosted for the first time in 2016, when Monterrey received the World Cup, on that occasion Japan took the tournament, Australia finished in second place, and the South Korean ninth repeated in third place. In 2018, the Mexican team won the championship, the Japanese took the silver and Venezuela finished with the bronze, in the event held in Barranquilla.

At the moment Mexico has a pre-list of 28 players that should be reduced to 24 before the start of the World Cup.

The pre-roster of the Mexican baseball team for the U-23 World Cup

The Mexican U-23 National Team is ready to defend the title won in Colombia in 2018. The team led by Enrique 'Che' Reyes will begin their activity on September 23. The group is in Hermosillo, Sonora, with the first works to get to the top of their game on September 23 in Ciudad Obregón against the Czech Republic.

La Novena Mexico will have three preparation games before starting the official activity. On Saturday, September 18 and Sunday, September 19, they will play against the Yaquis of Ciudad Obregón, both games at 11:00 hrs. (local time), 13:00 hrs. (Central Mexican time) and on Monday, September 20 against China Taipei at 14:30 hrs. (local time), 16:30 hrs. (Central Mexican time).

The pitching staff will participate in these games with a limited number of innings. The pre-list is made up of 28 players and will be reduced to 24 days before the start of the World Cup. The age limit is 24 years old due to the absence of this event in 2020 due to the pandemic.

The U-23 World Cup starts on September 23 and ends on October 2. Mexico shares Group A with Cuba, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Germany, and Chinese Taipei and all their first round games will be played at the Yaquis Stadium in Ciudad Obregon. Below are the 28 players of the pre-list introduced by Enrique 'Che' Reyes.


Alfredo Hurtado - Sultanes de Monterrey

Brandon Valenzuela - San Diego Padres

Kevin Zamudio - Leones de Yucatán


Eric Meza - Guerreros de Oaxaca

Javier Salazar - Sultanes de Monterrey

Reivaj Garcia - Chicago Cubs

Luis Diego Rodriguez - Tecolotes de los Dos Laredos

Hector Mora - El Aguila de Veracruz

Keven Lamas - Rieleros de Aguascalientes


Fernando Villegas - Saraperos de Saltillo

Roque Salinas - Mariachis of Guadalajara

Tirso Ornelas - Padres of San Diego

Agustin Ruiz - Padres of San Diego

Alan Garcia - Acereros de Monclova

Fabricio Macias - Pittsburgh Pirates


Jose Maria Albertos - Chicago Cubs

Brayan Mumulmea - Tigres de Quintana Roo

Saul Castellanos - Saraperos de Saltillo

Daniel Cruz - Bravos de León

Juan Pablo Tellez - El Aguila de Veracruz

Ricardo Hernández - Diablos Rojos del México

Juan Miguel Robles - Generals of Durango

Raul de los Reyes - El Aguila de Veracruz

Jorge Leo - Diablos Rojos del Mexico

Alemao Hernández - Diablos Rojos del México

Francisco Villegas - Diablos Rojos del México

Alejandro Chavez - Mariachis of Guadalajara

Carlos Stiff Rodríguez - El Águila de Veracruz

Coaches and staff

Enrique Reyes - Manager

Luis Carlos Rivera - Coach

Roberto Perez - Coach

Emmanuel Rangel - Coach

Armando Valdez - Coach

Carlos Enrique Reyes - Coach

Roberto Vizcarra - Trainer

Nicolas Castillo - Batboy

Patricio Perez - General Manager

Alejandro Medina - Operations Coordinator

Alberto Plascencia - Sports Advisor

Enrique Mayorga - President Femebe