Diego Luna will receive the Honorary Award at the 8th edition of the Platino Ibero-American Film Awards, in recognition of his intense career in the Ibero-American audiovisual industry" and "his work in the dissemination of Spanish and Portuguese-speaking culture. The Mexican actor is, at only 41 years of age, one of the leading figures in the Ibero-American audiovisual industry worldwide.

Immersed in the world of culture since his birth, Diego Luna (Toluca de Lerdo, 1979), made his debut at the age of 8 in the short film "El último fin de año", by Javier Bourges, and his leap to fame was in 2001 with "Y tu mamá también", by Alfonso Cuarón. Since then, the actor has worked both in the Ibero-American industry - "Soldados de salamina" (2003), by David Trueba; "Solo Dios sabe" (2006), by Carlos Bolado, or "Rudo y cursi" (2008), by Carlos Cuarón-, and in major Hollywood productions such as "The Terminal" (2004), by Steven Spielberg, or the most recent, "A Rainy Day in New York" (2019), by Woody Allen.

Not to mention his participation in the Star Wars universe with "Rogue One", alongside Felicity Jones, playing Cassian Andor, a character he will reprise in the eponymous series. He also appeared in numerous Mexican soap operas during the 1990s, although Luna's best-known television role is that of Miguel Ángel Félix Gallardo in the series "Narcos: México", for which he won the Platinum Award for best male performance in a miniseries.

And as a director, he is the author of the feature films "Abel" (2010), "César Chávez" (2014), and "Mr. Pig" (2016). With Gael García Bernal, he launched the traveling showcase documentary tour, an itinerant festival dedicated to the promotion of non-fiction films throughout Mexico. And in 2008 they founded the production company Canana Films.

Diego Luna picks up the baton from Raphael, last recognized with the Platinum of Honor at the VI edition of the awards, held in 2019 in Mexico (last year, in an online gala, this award was not presented). Previous recipients of the Honorary Award were Sonia Braga, in the first edition, in 2014; Antonio Banderas (2015); Ricardo Darín (2016); Edward James Olmos (2017) and Adriana Barraza (2018).

The actor and director will collect his honorary award at a gala to be held in Madrid on the first weekend of October. Among the favorite films in this edition are the Colombian "El olvido que seremos", by Fernando Trueba, and the Guatemalan "La llorona", by Jayro Bustamante, both with 11 nominations.

In the television section, Spain's "Patria" has five nominations, followed by Mexico's "Alguien tiene que morir", Colombia's "El robo del siglo" and Spain's "La casa de papel", all with four. The Platinum Awards are promoted by EGEDA and FIPCA and supported by the Ibero-American Film Academies and Institutes.