LMB defines the calendar of the 2019 season

Leones de Yucatán and Sultanes de Monterrey will star in the inaugural match on April 4; Red Devils of Mexico will open their new stadium against the Tigers

The Sultans of Monterrey are the champions of the LMB. Photo: Courtesy LMB
The Sultans of Monterrey are the champions of the LMB. Photo: Courtesy LMB

The Mexican Baseball League announced the games calendar of the 2019 season, in which each of its 16 teams will play 120 games, divided into two rounds.

On Thursday, April 4, the playball will be sung at the Sultan Palace in the capital of Nuevo Leon, with the duel between Leones de Yucatán and Sultanes de Monterrey, the most recent LMB champions.

The rest of the inaugural series starts on Friday, April 5, among which the LMB classic between Tigres de Quintana Roo and Diablos Rojos del México stands out, who will star in the first official game at the Alfredo Harp Helú Stadium, the new home of the ninth capital.

The brand new enclosure of the King of Sports in Mexico City will also host the All-Star Weekend, scheduled for June 15 and 16, in which fans can experience the Double Play and Home Run Derby, plus of the classic duel between the stars of the North and South Zones.

The second round will begin on Friday, June 21, with the end of the regular role agreed for Thursday, August 29. The postseason phase will begin on Saturday, August 31, with the Elimination Games of the North and South, if necessary.

The first series of Playoffs will be played from September 3 to 11, while the Championship Series of both zones will take place from September 14 to 22. The King Series, which defines the LMB champion, will be from September 24 to October 2, if it reaches its maximum of seven games.

Related Stories