London will join the Formula E calendar in 2020


London will host the end of the Formula E season in July next year with a race that will start and end at the ExCel exhibition center in Docklands, east London.

The return of the English capital to the circuit after an absence of three years was announced on Tuesday by the president of the Formula E, Alejandro Agag, at the Geneva Motor Show.

The ePrix that will be held between July 25 and 26 will have a part that will be held indoors. The circuit has 2.4 kilometers and will cross a seafront and the streets near the ExCel.

"All the motorsports series would love to organize an event in London, which has been our desire for quite some time," Agag said.

"The Formula E that returns to the United Kingdom goes beyond the pure excitement of racing, it is also a strong message for London to tackle air pollution (...) by promoting clean technologies and sustainable electric mobility", added the Spanish leader.

Formula E is based in the United Kingdom, but London has been out of the calendar since 2016 after a race in Battersea Park caused complaints from residents.

Formula E, which has races in Chile and Mexico, among other countries, is in its fifth season and this weekend a test will be held in Hong Kong.

Formula E for fourth year in a row in Mexico

This Saturday, Mexico will host for the fourth consecutive year the Formula E, electric car championship that began to be played in the 2014-2015 season, and which arrived in our country for the first time in 2016, when the Belgian Jérôme d'Ambrosio, of the Dragon Racing team, culminated in the first position with 28 units.

Tomorrow, the Autodromo Hermanos Rodríguez will host the fourth round of the electric car world championship in this campaign. The competition began on December 15 in Al-Diriyah, Saudi Arabia, where the first race was played. The venue of the second date was Marrakech, Morocco, on January 12, while on January 26 it was the turn of Santiago de Chile on the third and previous date.

Of the 22 pilots that will participate in the fourth edition of the race to be held in Mexico City, 14 of them have already been in previous editions. The cases of Lucas Di Grassi, Daniel Abt, António Félix da Costa, Jean-Éric Vergne, Sam Bird, Jérôme d'Ambrosio, Oliver Turkey, Sébastien Buemi, and Nelson Piquet Jr., who came to our country the three previous occasions stand out.

The other flyers that have also competed in the Autodromo Hermanos Rodríguez are Robin Frijns, José María López, Mitch Evans, André Lotterer and Edoardo Mortara. For his part, Alexander Sims, Gary Paffett, Stoffel Vandoorne, Pascal Wehrlein, Tom Dillmann, Oliver Rowland, Felipe Nasr, and Felipe Massa will live for the first time a race of Formula E in the Aztec nation. Nasr replaces Maximilian Gunther, who the first three dates was a teammate of Lopez in the Geox Dragon team, while Massa's case is sui generis because last month he came to the Mexican capital to contest Race Of Champions, on the 19th and 20th of January.

The Formula E contract with Mexico ends this year. However, Alberto Longo, co-founder of the event, said yesterday that he has no doubt that the race will continue to be held in our country, at least for the next five years.

"I do not believe that there is a risk of the end of Formula E in the short term, Mexico is a very important market. We are in negotiations with the new government and I do not think we have problems to continue here, at least for the next five years, "Luengo said during a press conference in which an alliance between DHL and the Jaguar team was announced. It promises emotions in the Jaguar I-Race eTrophy, an event that will be held just before the star race, which will start at 4:00 p.m.

In addition, Luengo stressed that the Formula E is an inclusive event, as he recalled that attendees can enjoy the concerts of Morat and Mario Bautista, and recalled that the main mission of the championship is to promote green mobility.

"We are an inclusive championship and the whole family can go. Not everything is cars, there are also concerts. In the city, there are 18 million inhabitants and CO2 is a tangible problem; we want to promote green mobility, "added the Spanish director.

The champion in the Formula E Mexico 2016 was the Belgian Jérôme d'Ambrosio. In 2017, the glory was taken by the Brazilian Lucas di Grassi, while last year the honor and victory were in the hands of the German Daniel Abt.

After three races, British Sam Bird leads the standings with 43 points. Two units of him, is D'Ambrosio, while the top 5 is completed by Felix da Costa, Robin Frijns and Jean-Éric Vergne, the three tied with 28 points.

Details of Formula E Mexico 2019 revealed

The Mexican Organization of International Motor Sports (OMDAI) revealed on Thursday some details of the next race of the Formula E Mexico 2019, which will take place on February 16 at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodríguez track.

Formula E Mexico 2019. Photo: stock photo
Formula E Mexico 2019. Photo: stock photo

At a press conference with a view to the fourth stop of the 2018-2019 campaign of Formula E, Juan Carlos Casco, track director of the body, announced several aspects of the competition in Mexico City, which will feature 2nd generation cars with greater speed than in previous years, as they reach 100 kilometers in just 2.8 seconds.

He recalled that each car has equal competition and the race lasts 45 minutes plus one lap, also invited fans (the Fanboost) to vote for their favorite driver to give an extra load of energy to the five drivers voted.

Casco informed that in the Attack Mode each one of the pilots will have to be determined before the race, which usually varies according to the track and same that will give good speed around five minutes that is equivalent to five laps of the Hermanos Rodríguez.

He added that the gearbox depends on the equipment, there is a single speed, up to three or four. The vehicles have an insulation monitoring, that is, the car realizes if there is an electric current leak and stops, and a high voltage interlocking system, so the battery does not deliver current, the terminals do not stay alive.

In addition to all this, the track has a fire extinguishing system to safeguard the pilot, in a fundamental way, and overheating the battery. Formula E México 2019 will have a category of support Jaguar I-Pace e trophy, also with electric cars but that can be used in the street and which reach up to 194 kilometers per hour. The director of OMDAI FIA, Nataly Moutet, also met at the event; Álvaro Buenaventura, commercial director of Formula E in Latin America, and Jorge Abed, general secretary of OMDAI FIA Mexico.

Buenaventura said: "Formula E is not just a race, the sporting part is a very good excuse but it is an excuse to send a message to the streets of sustainability, technology, innovation. We see ourselves as the competition of the future. Car racing may not sound and be fun, there should not always be noise. "

He also emphasized that there will be an E Village, which will have various activities for fans who meet at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodríguez.

Related Stories