The Caribbean Series 2021 in Mazatlan, January 31-February 6

Still, with a few months to go and an assembly to be held, the Caribbean Professional Baseball Confederation together with the Mexican Pacific League, have defined that the Caribbean Series 2021 in Mazatlan will be held from January 31st to February 6th.

Caribbean Series. Photo: Debate
Caribbean Series. Photo: Debate

"At this moment we are fortunate that in 2021 the Super Bowl is scheduled for February 7, which has allowed us to schedule our Caribbean Series from January 31 to finish on February 6," said Canizales.

"That means we wouldn't have any splices and it's a week where there are practically no NFL games because it's media week there".

During the last edition of the tournament in San Juan, Puerto Rico, the LMP officially presented the venue to the Caribbean Professional Baseball Confederation Assembly, a presentation that was incomplete because of the dates for the 63rd edition of the tournament, which ends the winter season, were left pending.

The dates were left to be defined after the commissioner of baseball in the Caribbean,

Juan Francisco Puello Herrera, would present to the Assembly a proposal to tour the Caribbean Classic from the first week of February to the last week of January.

This is with the intention that the maximum international competition of winter baseball not be coupled with the NFL Super Bowl, as well as to give the opportunity to the ballplayers who report to the MLB training camps.

The new Teodoro Mariscal Stadium, rebuilt at a cost of US$23 million and reopened in October 2018, will host the championship that pits the champion teams of the Caribbean area's winter ball tournaments against each other. The facility has capacity for 16,000 fans.

Since joining the CBPC, Mexico has hosted the Caribbean Series on 15 previous occasions, including five times in Mazatlán (1978, 1985, 1989, 1993 and 2005), but "La Perla del Pacífico" was ignored by those responsible for assigning venues until it had a new stadium.

Mazatlán ("City of Deer" in Nahuatl, the old Mexican language) is the second-largest city in the Mexican state of Sinaloa.

The 2021 Caribbean Series will feature the championship-winning winter leagues of Colombia, Mexico, Panama, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic, and Venezuela. Colombia and Panama will participate as special guests, a condition that Cuba had until last year.

During the current Caribbean Series in Puerto Rico, the CBPC said it does not completely rule out that Cuba, which was absent this year for unspecified reasons, may return in the future to the tournament it helped create 71 years ago.